These guides cover subjects such as criminal law, human rights law, and taxation law as well as legal databases from various countries.

Subject guides

Additional subject resources

Australian legal databases

  • AustLII
    A free database of Australasian primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials such as law reform reports and law journals.
  • CCH IntelliConnect
    An Australian legal database of subject commentaries, cases, legislation and journals.
  • Checkpoint (formerly Tax and Accounting Online)
    A collection of Australian taxation, superannuation and accounting cases, legislation and commentaries.
  • ComLaw
    Commonwealth Acts and delegated legislation.
  • LexisNexis AU
    An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including CaseBase (a case citator), Halsbury's laws of Australia (an encyclopaedia), case law, legislation, journals and subject commentaries.
  • Westlaw AU (formerly Legal Online)
    An extensive collection of Australian legal databases including FirstPoint (a case citator), The Laws of Australia (an encylopaedia), case law, journals and commentaries.

United Kingdom legal databases

  • BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)
    Includes British and Irish unreported judgments & legislation, European Union unreported judgments and Law Commission reports.
  • Halsbury's Laws of England
    This legal encyclopaedia provides an statement of the law of England and Wales, containing law derived from every source. It includes references to UK legislation and cases.
  • ICLR Online
    UK cases from the Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Times Law Reports and Daily Cases.
  • JustCite
    Covers all major cases from the UK and Ireland, as well as EU law and selected cases from common law jurisdictions around the world.
    UK legislation.
    Includes UK legal resources such as All England Law Reports, Law Reports of England and Wales, Scottish Session Cases, UK statutes and statutory instruments and a wide range of legal journals.
  • Westlaw
    A wide range of UK caselaw, legislation, journals and newspapers is available on Westlaw.

United States legal databases

    Legislative information from the Library of Congress inlcuding bills, voting records and the Congressional Record.
  • HeinOnline
    The Law Journal Library (many full text US law journals), legislative databases such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, US Code and US Statutes at Large.
  • Legal Information Institute (LII)
    An extensive collection of both federal and State US legal materials.
    Includes a wide range of primary and secondary US legal materials at both federal and State levels.
  • Library of Congress
    A wide range of US political and legislative resources.
  • Westlaw
    Includes a wide range of primary and secondary US legal materials at both federal and State levels. The World Journals database contains hundreds of full-text law reviews, mostly US.

Responsible Officer:  University Librarian/Page Contact:  Library Systems & Web Coordinator