Bibliography of Asian Studies
What You Get
Citations to western-language publications on all subjects relating to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 onwards including periodical articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, and individual monographs from 1971 through 1991.
The online BAS contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 edition (published 1997) plus more recent entries compiled especially for the online version.
Topics
Subject coverage includes:
Anthropology, Arts, Biography, Communication & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language, Library & Information Sciences, Literature, Philosophy and Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology, and Sociology.Country coverage includes:
- East Asia: China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Macao, Mongolia, Russian Far East, Soviet Far East, Taiwan, Tibet.
- Southeast Asia: Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, East Timor, Indochina, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.
- South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.
Coverage and Currency
From 1971onwards for western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften and many others.
Individual monographs from 1971 through 1991. Users seeking monographs after 1991 are urged to consult other general resources (such as RLIN, OCLC, etc.)
Note: scope and coverage of the BAS has varied during its publishing history. For more information see: http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/help/scope.html.
Pre-1971 volumes under the titles, Bulletin of Far Eastern Bibliography, Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, and Bibliography of Asian Studies are held in print copy in the Menzies Reference Serial Collection at Z3001.B8 and Z3001.B81.
Access - Who & How
Select Bibliography of Asian Studies from the Library's list of Other E-Resources, or via the Library Catalogue search for Bibliography of Asian Studies and then click the link to 'view electronic journal.'
Available to all ANU staff and students through the ANU campus network, or off-campus via the the reverve proxy. No logon or password is required.
Technical Requirements
Web browser - any recent version.
To download records: The BAS Help pages include information on downloading records as a tab-delimited file or into excel.
Quick Start
To search the database, click on the Search link from the BAS Main page. To limit your search to a particular country or countries, click on 'select below' to see a listing. Words or phrases may be entered in the search boxes. Choose fields and boolean operators from the pull-down menus.
To browse by subject, country or periodical title choose the appropriate 'browse link' from the BAS
main page.
More Help
For more information or assistance, ask at the Information Desk, R.G. Menzies Building.
See the Library's Information Literacy homepage for more information regarding courses covering Asia-Pacific electronic resources.
Contact: asiapacific.library@anu.edu.au Phone: 6125-2005
