Picture Australia
A web gateway to online picture collections from many organisations including the National Portrait Gallery, Powerhouse Museum, Australian War Memorial, National Gallery of Australia, National Library of Australia, and State and municipal libraries.
Culture & Recreation Portal
Directory of websites about all aspects of Australian culture including visual arts.
International Image Collections & Databases
ARTstor ARTstor is an international database of more than one million digital images for teaching and research in a range of disciplines including: Visual Arts, Design, Architecture, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Renaissance Studies, History, Literary Studies, and Music.
ARTstor images are derived from the collections of museums, galleries, libraries, photographic archives, and publishers.
ARTstor is available to ANU staff and students from any computer on campus and from off-campus via the Remote Login for ANU Users page.
Grove Art Online & Oxford Art Online
Grove Art Online is an authoritative reference resource for students of visual art and art history.
From 2008 Grove Art Online has been incorporated into the larger Oxford Art Online database.
It includes links to online images from art gallery and museum web sites worldwide. Grove Art and Oxford Art are available to ANU staff and students from any computer on campus and from off-campus via the Remote Login for ANU Users page.
COLLAGE Image Database
Database of images of works of art from the Guildhall Library and City of London Gallery.
ImageBase
ImageBase provides access to the collections of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.
Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, with images from Metropolitan Museum of Art.
VADS: Visual Arts Data Service
VADS is a UK-based online resource for visual arts. It is a portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images for use in teaching, learning and research in the UK.
Web Gallery of Art
A searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1750) containing over 15,000 reproductions.
Art Museums and Galleries
Most art gallery & museum websites include digital images of works in their collections.
Browse the directories below to find art gallery websites from Australia and all over the world:
Art Galleries Worldwide
Directory of art galleries from around the world from the Virtual Library Project.
Museums Worldwide
Directory of museum websites around the world from the Virtual Library Museums Project.