Skip Navigation
    
0
ANU Home | Helpdesk | Staff | Students | Division of Information | UniSafe
The Australian National University
Library
Scholarly Information Services


E-Resources for Music Research

Music E-Resources (databases) 
Online databases for music research.
Interdisciplinary E-Resources for Music Research
E-Resources in related disciplines and multidisciplinary databases.
ANU Library- E-Resources
More than 200 databases in all academic disciplines for ANU staff and students.

E-Resources on this page are available from all networked computers on campus.
They are also available to ANU staff and students from off-campus through the ANU Reverse Proxy login at http://virtual.anu.edu.au

E-resources for Music Research

Grove Music Online

  • Definitive music reference source now on the Web.
  • Searchable full text of thousands of articles
  • Includes links to related websites and links to sound files.
  • Now includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera online.

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT)

  • Indexes and abstracts more than 300 international music periodicals
  • Provides online access to full text articles from more than 40 periodicals.
  • Covers nearly all aspects of music from scholarly studies to popular music.

Music Index

  • Bibliographic database covering music literature published since 1979.
  • Indexes to more than 600 international music periodicals.

MUSE (RILM Abstracts)

  • The world's largest continuously updated bibliography of music literature.
  • Compiled by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale (RILM) which indexes journal literature
  • Includes the music catalogue of the Library of Congress.
  • To connect to the database (if you are an ANU student or staff member) go to the list of ANU Library databases.

Naxos Music Library

  • Comprehensive collection of classical music available online, comprising the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.
  • While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.

Classical Music Library

  • Classical Music Library is a large multi-label collection of music recordings. It enables listening to streamed recordings online from library and home computers.
  • This collection contains more than 35,000 sound and is supplemented by extensive reference materials.

Multidisciplinary E-Resources for Music Research

Arts & Humanities Citation Index on Web Of Science

  • Portal to scholarly information in all disciplines including Arts and Humanities.
  • Provides cited author searching as well as searching across subject areas.
  • Includes bibliographic records, abstracts, and each article's cited reference list.

Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS)

  • Indexes and abstracts current articles on Australian arts and culture as well as political, economic, legal, social topics.
  • Source materials include a wide range of periodicals and newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books.
  • Australian Public Affairs (APA) Full Text is a related database that provides many articles in full text online.

Dissertation Abstracts

  • Contains citations, with abstracts (since 1980) to dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and more than 200 institutions worldwide.
  • For more information go to the Dissertation Abstracts database information page

ERIC : Journal and Research Literature in Education

  • International bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education containing over 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles.
  • For more information and to connect to the database go to the ERIC database information page

Factiva

  • Web-based international business and news information service offering abstracts and full text articles from magazines and newspapers.
  • Includes full-text articles from Australian magazines and newspapers.
  • To connect, select Factiva from the list of ANU Library databases.

Proquest 5000 International

  • Citations, abstracts and selected full-text articles from popular and scholarly publications in the arts, social sciences and sciences
  • International coverage.

Uncover (Ingenta): Index to Worldwide Periodical Literature

  • Indexes journals in the fields of arts and humanities as well as science and social sciences.
  • Includes online access to selected full-text articles.
  • For more information and to connect to the database go to the Uncover/Ingenta database information page

 


Top

Remote login ("Reverse proxy")

If you are away from the ANU, this login will allow you to access restricted material as though you were still on campus at Acton. This is sometimes called the "reverse proxy".