Jump to content, skipping standard header Library home > Online resources > E‑resources & databases >
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
What you get | Topics | Coverage & Currency | Access | Technical
Requirements
Quick Start | More Help
What you Get
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online provides access
to over 2000 articles written by some of the world's most respected scholars
and philosophers. The resource is fully searchable, extensively cross-referenced
and also provides links to other sites and resources on the web.
Topics
| Aesthetics |
Metaphysics |
| Epistemology |
Mind and psychology |
| Ethics |
Phenomenology and existentialism |
| Feminism |
Philosophy and Literature |
| Language |
Politics |
| Law |
Postmodernism |
| Literature |
Religion |
| Logic and mathematics |
Science |
| Medical Ethics |
Social science |
Coverage & Currency
-
Comprehensive coverage of philosophical themes, world
religions, world philosophies and time periods.
-
Regularly upgraded with new material, revisions, and bibliographic
updates.
Access Who & How
Technical Requirements
- Minimum requirement is Netscape 4.7 or above, Internet Explorer 5.0
or above; Netscape 6.2 (or above) and Internet Explorer 5.5 (or above)
are recommended.
- Cookies should be enabled
Quick Start
- To search the whole resource enter terms in the text box that is at
the top of each page, and click on Search. The results are organised
by subject and article type in the menu, and are also listed separately.
- To search a subject click on Subject Guide in the navigation
bar at the top of each page and select from the list of Philosophical
Themes.
- Advanced Search allows Concept, Pattern or Boolean searching
(see below for Boolean search operators). The full text using all or selected
subjects may be searches, and contributors, or bibliography search is
also available.
- To browse from an A-Z listing, click on Browse in the navigation
bar at the top of each page. Initially this allows browsing by article;
to browse contributors, index or signpost articles click on the appropriate
links.
SEARCH OPERATORS
Operator
|
Sample Use |
Find articles containing |
| AND |
medical AND ethics |
both terms in the same record |
| OR |
nursing OR medical |
either or both terms in the same record |
| NOT |
ethics NOT medical |
first term not the second term in the same record |
More Help
- More information about how to search Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is available by clicking on the Help in the navigation bar at the
top of each screen
- For additional information about Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy,
please call Chifley Building AskANU Desk on 6125 4428 OR e-mail
- Courses covering electronic resources are run periodically - see the Information Literacy Page or email
Drop-in for personal assistance at the Chifley Library AskANU desk