Gabriel García Márquez works donated to the ANU Library

16 Sep 2014

The ANU Library is delighted to accept a donation of works by Gabriel García Márquez, from Her Excellency Dr Clemencia Forero-Ucros, Ambassador of the Republic of Colombia to Australia.

Winner of the 1982 Nobel Prize in Literature, Márquez was a Colombian novelist, short-story writer, screenwriter, and journalist of extraordinary talent. He is best known for his novels, including One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Autumn of the Patriarch and Love in the Time of Cholera.

The works donated to the Library include:

  • The autumn of the patriarch
  • Chronicle of a death foretold
  • The General in his labyrinth
  • Leaf storm, and other stories
  • Love in the time of cholera
  • One hundred years of solitude
  • The Story of a shipwrecked sailor
  • Strange pilgrims: twelve stories
  • No one writes to the colonel.

In Poem of the Gifts Márquez inspired us with the line "I've always imagined heaven to be a kind of library"