All ANU theses digitised – the 1990s

06 Apr 2020

To celebrate the digitisation of all ANU theses, we are looking at a selection of theses available through the Open Research repository.

Let's look at some ANU theses from the 1990s!


Dr Val Plumwood was a respected Australian ecologist, philosopher and activist, noted for bringing her feminist and eco-centric perspectives to western philosophy. She was a prolific author, with titles such as Feminism and the mastery of nature and The Eye of the Crocodile (which reflects on her escape from a crocodile attack in 1985).  Dr Plumwood’s work was foundational to the establishment of ecofeminism.

Professor Philippa Mein Smith is a historian and academic interested in the history of and relationships between Australia and New Zealand. In 2005, she established the New Zealand Australia Connections Research Centre at the University of Canterbury.

Ambassador Dr Geoffrey Shaw is a senior career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) who is currently the Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking for Australia.


Diana Bridge is an acclaimed poet from Wellington, New Zealand. Among many other awards, Diana received the Lauris Edmond Memorial Award in 2010 and the Sarah Broom Poetry Prize in 2015. She has published a number of collections, including Aloe: And Other Poems.

Gordon Briscoe is an Indigenous Australian academic, teacher and activist who became the first Aboriginal person to achieve a PhD in history. Gordon was involved in the establishment of the Aboriginal Progress Association, the Aboriginal Legal Service and the Aboriginal Medical Service. In 2004, Gordon was awarded the Order of Australia for services to Aboriginal health, legal services and education. His memoir Racial Folly – a twentieth-century Aboriginal family is available through ANU Press.

Dr Jennifer Bowers is a social psychiatrist and mental health practitioner, who has been the CEO of Rural and Remote Mental Health since 2006. Dr Bowers has lead the development and implementation of innovative mental health programs focused on the needs of Australians in rural and remote areas.


Professor Joanne Jamie is a scientist and researcher, specialising in bioorganic and medicinal chemistry. She is currently the Director of the Indigenous Bioresources Research Group at Macquarie University, which documents and investigates traditional medicines in collaboration with Indigenous communities.

Sione Ngongo Kioa is a diplomat who served as High Commissioner of the Kingdom of Tonga to the United Kingdom from 2006 to 2012, as well as Ambassador to Russia, Germany, Luxembourg, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Denmark, and the European Union.


Professor Nuzhat Ahmed is a molecular biologist whose research focuses on the molecular mechanisms of ovarian cancer spread. From 2002-2014, Professor Ahmed lead the Ovarian Cancer Research Group in Women’s Cancer Research Centre at the Royal Women’s Hospital in Victoria. She has made significant contributions to the advancement of this field of research. 

Dr Daphne Nash is a researcher who specialises in interdisciplinary cross-cultural research on topics relevant to Indigenous Australians. She also received her PhD from ANU for her exploration of representations of Indigenous knowledge in south-eastern Australia.


Rozanna Lilley is an Australian author, anthropologist and educator whose work over the last decade has focused on autism.  Her most recent book memoir Do Oysters Get Bored? reflects on her own upbringing with mother, late poet Dorothy Hewitt, and navigating life with a child with autism.

Professor Dr Yuchuan Ding MD is a scientist, researcher and neurosurgeon, who is a worldwide authority on strokes, traumatic brain injury and thermal injury. Dr Ding’s expertise has led to profound advances in stroke and traumatic brain injury research.


Dr Anton Koekemoer is a research astrophysicist who works at the Space Telescope Science Institute in the United States. His work includes maintaining the scientific productivity of the Hubble Space Telescope.

Dr Wafa El-Adhami is the Executive Director of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Initiative, led by the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. Dr El-Adhami has a research background in molecular- and micro-biology, and has held a number of senior management positions in the Australian Government.


Associate Professor Anneke Blackburn is a cancer researcher at the John Curtin School of Medical Research. Dr Blackburn’s research lead to the identification of genetic factors involved in breast cancer susceptibility in mice, and at JCSMR she worked with these findings with the aim of identifying people most at risk of developing cancer.

Dindin Solahudin is an author and academic, whose historical and ethnographic work ‘The Workshop for Morality’ captured a critical moment in the development of Islam in contemporary Indonesian society. His thesis has been translated into a text which has been published by ANU Press.


Dr Julie Rickwood is a music and performance researcher, whose work has focused on community choirs and the intersection of gender, identity and singing.

Berenice Carrington is an artist and ethnographic scholar. Her art brings together of drawing and ethnography, focusing on stories and an insider’s perspective.


Alison Aggarwal is a senior policy officer and human rights advocate who is currently serving as a Principal Adviser at the Australian Human Rights Commission. She previously worked as the Principal Adviser to Elizabeth Broderick, the former Sex Discrimination Commissioner.

Dr Sonja Best is a biochemist and molecular biologist, whose research focuses on immunology and pathogenic viruses. Dr Best was awarded a PECASE -  the highest honour bestowed by the U.S government for early career scientists and engineers, for her work on flavivirus suppression of innate immune responses.

Dr Stephen Bygrave is a senior executive who has lead several significant climate change initiatives in Australia – including the Renewable Energy Target, the Carbon Pricing Mechanism and the National Framework for Energy Efficiency.


Dr Andrew Tridgell is a computer scientist and programmer who was a major developer of the Samba file server, and co-invented the rsync algorithm (a file transfer tool) which was based on his PhD dissertation. He is an Honorary Lecturer at the ANU College of Engineering & Computer Science, focusing on high performance computing.

Dr Santosh Jatrana is a demographer and social epidemiologist whose research focus is in the field of gender, migrant health, ageing and health inequalities. She is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Population Research, which is the main journal of Population Association of Australia.


You can search and browse to find a wealth of research in the ANU Library theses collection.